My Library

     
Limit search to available items

Sign up for one of our newsletters and find out what's new @ Rodman Library

Search Google
More Information
Search OHPIR
Book Cover
ebook
Author Marcus, Ben, 1967- author
Title Short stories. Selections
Notes from the fog [ebook] : stories / Ben Marcus
Published New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2018
Copyright ©2018
Edition First edition
Descript 1 online resource
Content text txt
Media computer c
Carrier online resource cr
Summary "Thirteen transfixing new stories from one of the most innovative writers of his generation and one of the most vital and original voices of our time--for fans of George Saunders, Nathan Englander, and Elizabeth Strout. In these thirteen ingenious stories, Ben Marcus reveals moments of redemption in the sometimes nightmarish modern world. In "The Grow-Light Blues," a hapless, corporate drone finds love after being disfigured testing his employer's newest nutrition supplement--the enhanced glow from his computer monitor. In the chilling "Cold Little Bird," a father finds himself alienated from his family when he starts to suspect that his son's precocity has turned sinister. "The Boys" follows a sister who descends into an affair with her recently widowed brother-in-law. In "Blueprints for St. Louis," two architects in a flailing marriage consider the ethics of adding a mist that artificially incites emotion in mourners to their latest assignment, a memorial to a terrorist attack. A heartbreaking collection of stories that showcases the author's compassion, tenderness, and mordant humor--blistering, beautiful work from a modern master"-- Provided by publisher
"Thirteen transfixing new stories from one of the most innovative writers of his generation and one of the most vital and original voices of our time--for fans of George Saunders, Nathan Englander, and Elizabeth Strout"-- Provided by publisher
Note Online resource; title from PDF title page (EBSCO, viewed October 24, 2018)
Subject Interpersonal relations -- Fiction
Short stories, American
Electronic books
Downloadable file
Alt Author OverDrive, Inc
ISBN 9781101947463
1101947462

©2019 Rodman Public Library : 215 E. Broadway Street : Alliance, OH 44601 : 330-821-2665
Rodman Library Privacy Policy
Louisville Public Library : 700 Lincoln Avenue : Louisville, OH 44641 : 330-875-1696