My Library

     
Limit search to available items

Sign up for one of our newsletters and find out what's new @ Rodman Library

Search Google
More Information
Book Cover
ebook
Author Dokoupil, Tony
Title The last pirate [ebook] : a father, his son, and the golden age of marijuana / Tony Dokoupil
Publisher New York : Doubleday, 2014
Descript 1 online resource
Content text txt
Media computer c
Carrier online resource cr
Summary In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces. As he relates his father's rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells a larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a deep chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. Everyone knew a drug dealer back then. The Last Pirate is the story of what happened to one of them, to his family, and in a pharmacological sense to us all. It's a cultural portrait of marijuana's endless allure, set against the Technicolor backdrop of South Florida in the era of Miami Vice. It's a public saga complete with a real pirate's booty: more than a million dollars lost, buried or stolen. But it's also a deeply personal pursuit, the product of a son's determination to replant the family tree in richer soil. From the Hardcover edition
Note Description based on print version record
Subject Dokoupil, Tony -- Family
Dokoupil, Anthony, 1946-
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs.
Journalists -- United States -- Biography
Editors -- United States -- Biography
Marijuana industry -- United States
Pharmaceutical industry -- United States
LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES / Journalism
Genre Electronic books
Subject Downloadable file
Alt Author OverDrive, Inc
ISBN 9780385533478 (electronic bk.)
0385533470 (electronic bk.)
Music # EB00156990 Recorded Books

©2020 Rodman Public Library : 215 E. Broadway Street : Alliance, OH 44601 : 330-821-2665
Rodman Library Privacy Policy
Louisville Public Library : 700 Lincoln Avenue : Louisville, OH 44641 : 330-875-1696