My Library

     
Limit search to available items

Sign up for one of our newsletters and find out what's new @ Rodman Library

Search Google
More Information
Book Cover
E-AUDIO
Author Dokoupil, Tony, author
Title The last pirate : a father, his son, and the golden age of marijuana [downloadable audiobook] : a memoir / Tony Dokoupil
Published [New York] : Books on Tape, 2014
 
 
Edition Unabridged
Descript 1 online resource (1 sound file (09 hr., 56 min., 31 sec.)) : digital
095631
Content spoken word spw
Media computer c
Carrier online resource cr
Performer(S) Read by MacLeod Andrews
Summary In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City , Tony Dokoupil's vivid memoir recounts the life of his father, Big Tony: the undisputed, multi-millionaire king of the 1980's Miami marijuana trade...until it all went spectacularly up in smoke. For NBC News Senior Writer Tony Dokoupil, growing up in the technicolor fantasy land of 1980's Miami was a dream. He attended the prestigious Gulliver Prep with Bush family members and spent weekends yachting in crystal blue waters off the Miami Keys. A typical day would see his mom head off to Jazzercise decked out in feathered earrings and silver spandex while his father drank daiquiris on the lanai and cruised around in sports cars that were eventually leant to the production crews of Miami Vice. They lived a life of excess and privilege; all built on the springy, sticky, spongy foundation of Columbia's finest. Yet beneath the glitzy surface lay a dark world of midnight drug smuggles, week-long heroin binges, domestic violence, prostitution, turncoat informants and the increasing pressure of Reagan's War on Drugs. What began as a peace-filled gentleman's trade populated by bleachy-haired Jimmy Buffet pirates soon turned into a violent international business fueled by greed, and Big Tony's empire crashed and burned
Note Description based on vendor-supplied metadata
Subject Dokoupil, Tony
Dokoupil, Tony -- Family
Dokoupil, Anthony, 1946-
Journalists -- United States -- Biography
Editors -- United States -- Biography
Marijuana industry -- United States
Pharmaceutical industry -- United States
Genre Audiobooks.
Subject Downloadable audiobooks
Downloadable file
Alt Author Andrews, MacLeod, narrator
OverDrive, Inc
ISBN 9780553397406 (electronic audio bk.)
0553397400 (electronic audio bk.)

©2020 Rodman Public Library : 215 E. Broadway Street : Alliance, OH 44601 : 330-821-2665
Rodman Library Privacy Policy
Louisville Public Library : 700 Lincoln Avenue : Louisville, OH 44641 : 330-875-1696